Council 28 June 2017

MEETING OF MIDDLESBROUGH COUNCIL

At the Meeting of Middlesbrough Council, lawfully convened, and held in the Town Hall, Middlesbrough on 28 June 2017.

PRESENT: Councillors S E Bloundele (Chair), R Brady (Vice-Chair), R Arundale, S Biswas, J

Blyth, D J Branson, J Brunton, Mr D Budd, M Carr, D P Coupe, D Davison, S Dean, E Dryden, J Goodchild, T Harvey, A Hellaoui, T Higgins, C Hobson, J Hobson, B A Hubbard, N Hussain, L Lewis, T Mawston, D McCabe, J McGee, L McGloin, F McIntyre, C M Rooney, D Rooney, J Rostron, M Saunders, M Storey, M Thompson, Z Uddin, J A Walker, M Walters, J Young and L Young

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE were submitted on behalf of Councillors Councillor T Lawton, Councillor J McTigue, Councillor G Purvis, Councillor P Purvis, Councillor J Rathmell, Councillor J Sharrocks, Councillor N J Walker.

DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

None Declared.

1 APPOINTMENT TO THE CHIEF OFFICER APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

The Monitoring Officer submitted a report, the purpose of which was for Council to agree the appointment of an Executive Member to the Chief Officer Appointments Committee.

Members were advised that the Chief Officer Appointments Committee is presently comprised of: five Labour Members; one Conservative Member; and one MICA Member. Of the five Labour Members, the current allocations were for the Elected Mayor, Deputy Mayor, and two nominated Members; the fifth (as stipulated in paragraph 3(a) of the Officer Employment Procedure Rules) was 'the relevant portfolio holder.'

In order to ensure certainty going forwards, it was proposed to replace the words 'the Elected Mayor, Deputy Mayor and the relevant portfolio holder' with the words 'the Elected Mayor.' This would revert the 'relevant portfolio holder' requirement to a simple nomination for the committee. The Committee would, thereafter, comprise: the Elected Mayor; four other Labour Members; one Conservative Member; and one MICA Member.

Moved, seconded and ORDERED that Council agree:

- a) the amended wording for the composition of the Chief Officer Appointments Committee;
- b) the appointment of Councillor N Walker, the Executive Member for Finance and Governance, as the nominated Executive Member to the Chief Officer Appointments Committee; and
- c) the appointment of such substitutes as may be nominated by the Members of the Committee.